Mr McFall’s Chamber – programme of Polish Music

part of the 2018 season: “At Home in a Foreign Land”

The Queen’s Hall, Clerk St., Edinburgh EH8 9JG
Thursday 15th November at 7.30 pm
£15/£12 (school children free)
Tickets available from  and 0131 668 2019
The Mackintosh Church, Garscube Rd., Glasgow G20 7EL
Friday 16th November at 7.30 pm
£15/£12 (school children free)
Tickets from and 0141 353 8000

Piano chamber music from Bacewicz and Penderecki, alongside Polish tango numbers by Jerzy Petersburski, Artur Gold, Zygmunt Wiehler, Fanny Gordon, Stanisław Ferszko and Wiktor Krupinski. In the early 20th century tango was hugely popular in Poland, developing its own style and tradition. Many composers of popular Polish tango during the 1930s enlisted in the Polish Armed Forces, fighting alongside the Allies and, after the war, migrated to Israel, the US, Argentina, the Soviet Union and elsewhere. Grażyna Bacewicz remained in Warsaw throughout the German occupation, evolving as a leading Polish composer in the post war years, alongside her younger contemporary, Krzysztof Penderecki.
It took just a single bar of Jerzy Petersburski’s 1928 work Tango Milonga to transport us to another place and time – The Scotsman
Grazyna Bacewicz – piano quintet no 2 (1965)
Krzysztof Penderecki – Three Miniatures for clarinet and piano (1954)
Three Polish tangos:
Zygmunt Wiehler – Usta (1934)
Jerzy Petersburski – Tango Milonga (1928)
Artur Gold Gdzie – Twoje Serce? (1930)
Krzysztof Penderecki – piano sextet (2000)
Three Polish tangos:
Stanislaw Ferszko – Gdy Odejdziersz (1937)
Wiktor Krupinski – Prztul, Uscisnij, Pocaluj (1935)
Fanny Gordon (Faige Jofé) – Skrwawione Serce (1932)

Simon Smith – piano
Maximiliano Martín – clarinet (principal clarinet with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra)
Alec Frank-Gemmill – horn (principal horn with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra)
Ben Marquise-Gilmore – violin (leader of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra)
Robert McFall – violin (ex-member of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra)
Brian Schiele – viola (member of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra)
Su-a Lee – cello (member of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra)
Rick Standley – double bass (principal double bass with the Scottish Ballet Orchestra)

Of Simon Smith: a phenomenon – nothing daunts him, technically or musically – The Scotsman
Supported by Creative Scotland
Scottish charity registered SC028348

Posted in Concerts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.